Johan Agebjörn - ”Music with less electricity”

”It's so much easier for an electronic musician to just make a series of
albums with beats. But this is something different altogether. The only
artist that i can think of who has done anything similar to this is maybe
Aphex Twin on "Druqks". But his compositions on the piano are not as
brilliant and refreshing as Johan's.”

• •Jon Zaremba

10-track black CDR
T ime:
Edition: 50 copies (sold out), downloads available from iTunes, Amazon, Bandcamp
Release date: September 4th, 2006 (downloads released in February 2012)
Cat. no.:

”Music with less electricity” is a collection of piano compositions that were originally never meant to be recorded or performed. Most of them served more as some kind of therapy, being composed during a hard period of Johan's life when the piano was his only bright spot. However, later his girlfriend asked him to record the songs for her, which he did, most of them in December 2004. The cottage of Mossebo (see f.a.q.) was so cold that it was absolutely necessary to keep the fire burning - you can't play the piano with freezing fingers - so on some tracks you can hear the sparkling of the fire.

The title of the album was chosen since this album is less electronic than the rest of the music that Johan composes. The track ”Less electricity” was composed during the storm Gudrun, when Mossebo was out of electricity for three days. A few months later, a friend of Johan convinced him to release the album. After having polished some of the recordings and added background strings etc. to some tracks (making it ”less electric” rather than completely acoustic), this is now happening.

1. Song in c minor
2. Rosa Luxemburg
3. The fox, the rat and the pig
4. Folk music-ish
5. Song in g minor
6. 8ths

7. Less electricity
8. Song II in c minor
9. Fragments of a cathedral (Acoustic version)
10. Universal love

All tracks composed by Johan Agebjörn except ”The fox, the rat and the pig” based on a traditional song and ”Fragments of a cathedral” based on ”La Cathédrale engloutie” by Claude Debussy.